Gluten is a type of protein that’s mainly found in wheat, rye, and barley. The Latin word for “glue”, gluten in food acts as a glue-like substance that helps foods maintain their shape.
This number reflects a growing concern regarding the health effects of gluten and an overall intention to follow a healthier diet. While there is nothing dangerous about gluten for most people, about 1% of the population suffer from celiac disease, an autoimmune disorder in which gluten causes the body to attack the small intestine. People who have celiac disease have to not only avoid eating foods with gluten, but they also have to watch out for cross-contamination. The majority of people who follow a gluten-free diet don’t have celiac disease, but rather gluten intolerance, sometimes called non-celiac gluten sensitivity.
Nuts in their pure form are gluten-free. This includes peanuts, almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, walnuts, pine nuts, pistachios, cashews, Brazil nuts and all other natural nuts. Sesame seeds and sunflower seeds are also gluten-free. While nuts are naturally gluten-free, you need to be careful with flavored nuts. When nuts are flavored, wheat is often times a component of the seasonings added to these nuts.
Some of our manufactured product offerings do contain gluten and are produced and packaged within the same facility as our natural nuts and seeds. We are not a certified gluten-free facility so cross-contamination could be a small possibility. Those with celiac disease should ensure their snacks are certified gluten-free to avoid any health issues.
Learn more about our bulk nuts HERE.